8 -eight-

Ark Dark Half8 -eight-

Vocals: Ribbon (リボン)
Lyrics: Ribbon (リボン)
Arranged by: NSY
Album: Ark Dark Half
Circle: Tsugumi ()
Event: C83
Original: Ghost Lead [ゴーストリード]

Requested by: Kappashiro

Subtitled video courtesy of Kappashiro: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IPb6bdiBPDU
Subtitled video courtesy of NovaSnows: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vAqx6x1xWIg

Now, we have a track from an offshoot of Sally. There’s so many of them now it can be hard to keep track! Tsugumi was formed by Wani and NSY a few years ago – if I remember correctly, it was because they wanted to do more Ten Desires arranges. Anyway, they finished re-arranging Ten Desires, did a collaboration album with Adam Kadmon, and now the circle’s on hiatus. Of course, it still gets featured on Sally’s omnibus CDs – this particular track was also on their last one, Playlist 2. I still hope for a new Tsugumi CD every event. Probably because it features the wonderful vocals of Ribbon.

Anyway, the song itself describes Yuyuko’s relationship with the Saigyou Ayakashi. It’s 8-10ths full, and only needs a little more spring to bloom, hence the repetition of “Eight-tenths, love…” There is one troublesome phrase in there – 顔を盗みたい (‘kao wo nusumitai’) which literally means ‘to steal someone’s face.’ I interpreted it as ‘assuming someone’s identity,’ unless Yuyuko really goes out and steals faces…

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

eight-tenth, LOVE
誰も 知らない 恋桜の秘密
咲かない 不完全な春
待ちくたびれ 眠る

eight-tenth, LOVE
dare mo shiranai koizakura no himitsu
sakanai fukanzen na haru
machiku tabire nemuru

“Eight-tenths, love…”
It’s the secret of my beloved cherry tree, unknown to all.
We’re in an imperfect spring – the tree does not bloom.
I grow tired of waiting, so I sleep…

「たとえば、 あなたが
私の恋人だとしてさ。」
悪い香を 吸って
感じる顔を盗みたい

「tatoeba, anata ga
watashi no koibito da to shite sa」
warui kaori wo sutte
kanjiru kao wo nusumitai

“I wonder, what if
You were my lover…?”
I inhale that evil scent,
I feel it – I want to take your place.

eight-tenth、 LOVE
満たされたら 後は落ちて 消える
明けない 終わらない夜に
すがりついて 笑う

eight-tenth, LOVE
mitasaretara ato wa ochiru kieru
akenai owaranai yoru ni
sugari tsuite warau

“Eight-tenths, love…”
If it were to be filled, it would fall and vanish.
In this dawnless, never-ending night,
I embrace it, and smile…

夜ごと忘却の果てに
満開の桜を呼ぶ
「 eight-tenth・・・、
ああ、あと少しなのに。」
花びらが涙になる

yogoto boukyaku no hate ni
mankai no sakura wo yobu
「 eight-tenth…,
aa, ato sukoshi na no ni.」
hanabira ga namida ni naru

Every night, at the limits of forgetfulness,
I invoke the full bloom of this cherry tree.
“Eight-tenths…
Aah, it’s so close now.“
Those petals become tears…

「たとえば、私が
あなたを守る蝶だとしてさ。」
花の瞳に キスを
痺れる傷を負いながら

「 tatoeba, watashi ga
anata wo mamoru chou dato shite sa. 」
hana no hitomi ni kisu wo
shibireru kizu wo oi nagara

“I wonder, what if
I was a butterfly, protecting you?“
I give those flowers’ eyes a kiss,
Whilst bearing wounds that have become numb…

eight-tenth, LOVE
誰も 知らない 恋桜の秘密
咲かない 不完全な春
待ちくたびれ 眠る

eight-tenth, LOVE
dare mo shiranai koizakura no himitsu
sakanai fukanzen na haru
machiku tabire nemuru

“Eight-tenths, love…”
It’s the secret of my beloved cherry tree, unknown to all.
We’re in an imperfect spring – the tree does not bloom.
I grow tired of waiting, so I sleep…

Leave a Reply

