refrain

coverrefrain

Vocals: lily-an
Lyrics: azuki
Arranged by: kaztora
Album: Mémoire
Circle: Liz Triangle
Event: C80
Original Theme: Eastern Judgement in the Sixtieth Year ~ Fate of Sixty Years [六十年目の東方裁判 ~ Fate of Sixty Years]

Requested by: Roboscape

[Insert usual spiel about how much I love Azuki’s lyrics here.]

This song seems to be told from the perspective of Eiki – she’s been watching over someone (Buddha?) for their whole life, but she feels lost when they cross the Sanzu River and fail to recognise her. At least, that’s the way I interpret it.

_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Though I do not question whether my reason for coming here is right or wrong,
Even the mirror that reflects my heart has become misty.
Though I called out “long time no see” when we met,
The words I heard coming this way were “it’s nice to meet you.”

Those sharp words, which wound earnestly,
Erase the past without projecting even sin.

At the end of the long, long route that I will take from here,
What sort of world will be left behind in my thoughts?
Please, please, forget about it.
This is a world where the beginning repeats countless times.
[The beginning of the end. Countless beginnings…]

Though I do not know why I am here,
The meaning of the scenery I can see
Is found in your somewhat nostalgic face. (1)
Who’s that sobbing in a sorrowful tone
In this seemingly precious, seemingly mad,
Irritating world?

 My heart’s kaleidoscope lies in the riverbed of my memories, and
The red spider lilies on the riverside are coloured by the daybreak.
The poem of our meeting and parting is endlessly repeated
In a world in which everything is born, raised, and then dies.
Please, please, forgive me.
I leave this behind so you will at least not forget those feelings.
[The warmth of these words] lights the [flame of life].

So I will not fade, so I will not forget,
I count life’s springs, and the flowers bloom.
For just one life, I am alone,
And I see, hear, and remember everything of You. (2)
I become strong, strong, so strong…

At the edge of that distant, distant conclusion,
The words that we exchange feel somewhat like heaven.
Please, please, do not forget me.
I will always resound through everything in
The world reflected in your eyes.
[Please, remember me]

I don’t need trite introductions like “it’s nice to meet you.”
The promise that ties us now lies in the red spider lilies that bloomed on the water’s surface.

_ _ _ _ _

(1) The last part, 顔に (‘kao ni’ – In your face) isn’t written in the lyrics booklet, but it’s sung that way.
(2)
貴女 (‘anata’ – [feminine] You) is written, but Amida (another name for Buddha) is sung. You is capitalised to represent this.

One thought on “refrain

  1. Roboscape April 24, 2015 / 3:35 am

    It’s here!! I knew this song is going to have good lyrics and now I can understand them thank you!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

